History

History of the United Herbaria Z+ZT

The herbarium of the University of Zürich was founded in 1834. At that time, Oswald Heer (1809-1883) started his professorship in botany at the University, which was founded one year before. The Botanical Museum of the ETH Zürich was founded in 1855 at the Botanical Garden "Zur Katz" (old Botanical Garden at the Pelikanstrasse) and hired its first curator of the botanical collections (Christian Brügger, 1833-1899) four years later.
Until his retirement in 1882, Oswald Heer was professor at the University as well as at the ETH. The appointment of Carl Schröter (1855-1939), succeeding Oswald Heer as professor at the ETH, brought about the separation of the joint botanical institutes of the two universities, and the botanical collections (except for the herbaria of Johannes Gessner and Johannes Hegetschweiler) were transferred to the ETH.
Starting with the appointment of Hans Schinz (1858-1941) as regular professor of the newly founded Institut of Systematic Botany in 1895, a rebuild of the botanical collections of the University of Zürich was initiated. The foundation for this new Botanical Museum were built by the endowment of the extensive private collections and libraries of Hans Schinz to the University. In 1990, the two herbaria of the University of Zürich (Z) and the ETH Zürich (ZT, including the herbarium of the Geobotanical Institute, RUEB) were combined. The ownership of the specimens is maintained, but the joint curation of the herbarium forms the foundation for a deepened collaboration of the botanical institutes of the two academies and allows increased synergies.

Geschichte

Geschichte der Herbarien Z+ZT

Das Herbar der Universität Zürich wurde 1834 gegründet. Damals nahm Oswald Heer (1809-1883) seine Lehrtätigkeit als Professor für Botanik an der ein Jahr zuvor geschaffenen Universität auf. 1855 erfolgte die Gründung des Botanischen Museums der ETH Zürich am damaligen Botanischen Garten "Zur Katz" (alter Botanischer Garten an der Pelikanstrasse) und vier Jahre später wurde Christian Brügger (1833-1899) als erster Konservator der botanischen Sammlungen eingestellt.
Bis zu seinem altershalben Rücktritt im Jahre 1882 hatte Oswald Heer eine Doppelprofessur an der Universität und der ETH inne. Mit der Berufung von Carl Schröter (1855-1939) als Nachfolger von Oswald Heer an die ETH, erfolgte eine Trennung des bisher gemeinsam betriebenen botanischen Instituts der beiden Hochschulen und die botanischen Sammlungen (mit Ausnahme der Herbarien von Johannes Gessner und Johannes Hegetschweiler) gingen an das Polytechnikum über.
Mit der Berufung von Hans Schinz (1858-1941) im Jahre 1895 als Ordentlicher Professor des neu gegründeten Instituts für Systematische Botanik setzte der Neuaufbau der botanischen Sammlungen an der Universität Zürich ein. Den Grundstock für dieses neue Botanische Museum bildete die Schenkung der umfangreichen Privatsammlungen und der Bibliothek durch Hans Schinz an die Universität. Erst 1990 wurden die Herbarien der Universität Zürich (Z) und der ETH Zürich (ZT; einschliesslich das Herbarium des Geobotanischen Institutes, RUEB) wieder zusammen gelegt. Die Besitzverhältnisse bleiben wohl gewahrt, aber der gemeinsame Betrieb des wieder vereinigten Herbars bildet die Grundlage für eine vertiefte Zusammenarbeit der botanischen Institute der beiden Zürcher Hochschulen und erlaubt das Ausnutzen von Synergismen.