Mosses

The moss collection of the United Herbaria Z+ZT contains around 400'000 specimens. The geographical focus is on Switzerland and Europe. The United Herbaria Z+ZT also contain moss specimens from North America, the South Pacific Islands (especially New Caledonia) and South East Asia (especially Sunda Islands).

The oldest specimens were collected in the first half of the 19th century among others by J.J. Hegetschweiler, J.G. Trog, R. Brown, O. Heer, H.J. Guthnick, J.-J. Vetter, and A.F.C. von Fischer-Ooster. At the beginning of the 20th century, large collections of P.F. Culmann and J.J. Amann were added. Even today, the collections are constantly being expanded. In recent decades, numerous specimens have been collected as part of the project " Inventory of the Swiss Bryophyte Flora", which are also kept in the United Herbaria Z+ZT.

Aside from individual specimen collections, the United Herbaria Z+ZT own some bound herbaria that are of historical interest. These include e.g. the "Flora Cryptogamica" by J.J. Bremi from the 19th century and the "Cryptogamia tigurina" (1809) by J.J. Hegetschweiler.

Important collections of mosses come from:

J.J. Amann, J.H. Albrecht, H. Albrecht-Rohner, J.G. Bamberger, J.J. Bremi-Wolf, F. Brüngger, P.F. Culmann, A. Ernst, L. Fischer (ex BERN), A.F.C. von Fischer-Ooster (ex BERN), K.[C.] Forster, E. Frey-Stauffer (ex BERN), J. Frymann, M.B.F. Gugelberg von Moos, H.J. Guthnick (ex BERN), J.J. Hegetschweiler, J. Hegetschweiler, K.K. Hegetschweiler, H. Huber, H. Hürlimann, O. Jaag, M. Jäggli, R. Keller, R. Lübenau-Nestle (Belege aus der Schweiz und Doubletten), F. Ochsner-Christen (ex BERN), A. Schnyder, J.G. Trog (ex BERN), J.-J. Vetter, J. Weber

Curator of bryophytes: 

Heike Hofmann

Moose

Die Moossammlung der Herbarien Z+ZT umfasst rund 400'000 Belege. Der geografische Schwerpunkt liegt in der Schweiz und in Europa. Daneben beherbergen die Herbarien Z+ZT auch Moosbelege von Nordamerika, den Südpazifischen Inseln (besonders Neukaledonien) und Südostasien (besonders Sunda-Inseln).

Die ältesten Belege wurden in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts gesammelt und stammen u.a. von J.J. Hegetschweiler, J.G. Trog, R. Brown, O. Heer, H.J. Guthnick, J.-J. Vetter und A.F.C. von Fischer-Ooster. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts kamen die wichtigen und grossen Sammlungen von P.F. Culmann und J.J. Amann dazu. Auch heute werden die Sammlungen ständig erweitert. In den letzten Jahrzehnten wurden zahlreiche Belege im Rahmen des Projekts "Nationales Inventar der Schweizer Moosflora" gesammelt, die ebenfalls in den Herbarien Z+ZT aufbewahrt werden.

Neben der Sammlung einzelner Belege besitzen die Vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT auch einige gebundene Sammlungen, die von historischem Interesse sind. Dazu gehören z.B. die "Flora Cryptogamica" von J.J. Bremi aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und die "Cryptogamia tigurina" (1809) von Johannes Hegetschweiler.

Wichtige Sammlungen stammen von:

J.J. Amann, J.H. Albrecht, H. Albrecht-Rohner, J.G. Bamberger, J.J. Bremi-Wolf, F. Brüngger, P.F. Culmann, A. Ernst, L. Fischer (ex BERN), A.F.C. von Fischer-Ooster (ex BERN), K.[C.] Forster, E. Frey-Stauffer (ex BERN), J. Frymann, M.B.F. Gugelberg von Moos, H.J. Guthnick (ex BERN), J.J. Hegetschweiler, J. Hegetschweiler, K.K. Hegetschweiler, H. Huber, H. Hürlimann, O. Jaag, M. Jäggli, R. Keller, R. Lübenau-Nestle (Belege aus der Schweiz und Doubletten), F. Ochsner-Christen (ex BERN), A. Schnyder, J.G. Trog (ex BERN), J.-J. Vetter, J. Weber

Belege suchen

Kuratorin Moose: Heike Hofmann