Research projects

Botanik im Saastal
 

Digitisation project within the vascular plant collections

Within the scope of the 2015-2020 strategy, the ETH Library supports the digitisation and publication of 100'000 vascular plant specimens from the United Herbaria Z+ZT based on the latest standards and optimised workflows. The project is divided into three subprojects:

  1. Release of a hitherto inaccessible collection: The approximately 6'000 specimens assembled by Hans Hess from Angola will be mounted, labelled and digitised, before being made publicly accessible through our web portal, along with relevant metadata.
  2. Establishment of international imaging standards: Thanks to two digitisation stations and state-of-the-art imaging equipment, all 15'000 type specimens housed at the United Herbaria Z+ZT are going to be photographed and made freely accessible through our webpage.
  3. Annual management and release of 100'000 herbarium records: The establishment of an efficient digitisation workflow will enable us to re-organise and catalogue all estimated 85'000 records of the family Brassicaceae from our collections. With the help of (citizen) scientists, taxonomic revisions and relevant metadata will be incorporated, to promote the use of these specimens in future research projects.

Botanical curiosities discovered throughout our digitisation efforts are being regularly presented by Dr. Guilhem Mansion (in English or French).

 
Herbar Hürlimann

 

 

Digital recording of the bryophyte collection Hans Hürlimann

The private bryophyte collection of Hans Hürlimann comprises around 4,800 specimens and was handed over to the herbaria Z+ZT in 2008. Besides specimens from Switzerland, it includes samples from numerous European countries and almost all other continents. The specimens were collected between 1937 and 2003. With financial support of the Foundation for the Promotion of Plant Knowledge, the specimens are now photographed and recorded digitally. The already processed specimens can be viewed publicly in the the online collection of the herbaria Z+ZT. The project will be completed by the end of 2018.

Botanik im Saastal
 

Botanical tourism in Saastal

The herbarium Keller-Naegeli (HKN), originally one of the largest private plant collections in Switzerland, is part of the United Herbaria Z+ZT. HKN amongst other focused their attention on the valleys around Visp in Valais. The project on botanical tourism in Saastal is an important step in the processing of this herbarium. Together with the written and photographic documents obtained, the historical plants provide a valuable insight into the cultural history of botanical collection.

 
 

Moosflora of Switzerland

The project "Moosflora der Schweiz" aims at providing electronic access to photographs and data on the morphology, ecology and distribution of all 1'100 mosses occurring in Switzerland. The United Herbaria Z+ZT have extensive bryological collections that are made available for the study of morphological features and the preparation of pictures for this project. The historical data further provide important information on the earlier distribution of the species.

 

Flora of the Canton of Zurich

The project "Flora des Kantons Zürich" is intended to systematically record the plants diversity in this Canton. The project does not only focus on the actual biodiversity, but also on historical plant distribution. The United Herbaria Z+ZT constitute an important source of historical data. We therefore support the project "FloZ" by actively participating in the collection of historical findings from the Canton of Zurich.

Forschung & Projekte

Botanik im Saastal
 

Digitalisierungsprojekt im Gefässpflanzenherbar

Die ETH Bibliothek unterstützt im Rahmen der Digitalisierungsstrategie 2015-2020 das digitale Photographien, Registrieren und Publizieren von 100'000 Gefäßpflanzenbelegen der Vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT auf Basis neuester Informationsstandards und optimierten Workflows. Das Projekt gliedert sich in drei Teilprojekte:

  1. Die etwa 6'000 Belegen der Angola-Sammlung von Hans Hess werden erstmals montiert, etikettiert und digitalisiert, bevor sie schlussendlich im Webportal der Vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT samt erfassten Metadaten der Öffentlichkeit weltweit zugänglich gemacht werden.
  2. Alle 15'000 Typus-Belege der Vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT werden dank zweier Digitalisierungsstationen und modernster Technik erneut fotografiert und über unsere Webseite frei bereitgestellt.
  3. Mit dem Aufbau eines effizienten Digitalisierungs-Workflows werden exemplarisch sämtliche 85'000 Belege der Familie Brassicaceae zusammen mit den wichtigsten Metadaten aus unserer Sammlung neu eingeordnet und inventarisiert. Mithilfe von (Bürger-)Wissenschaftlern werden taxonomische Revisionen und relevante Metadaten zusätzlich einbezogen, um die Nutzung der Belege im Rahmen von zukünftigen Forschungsprojekte zu fördern.

Botanische Kuriositäten die während den Digitalisierungen aufgespürt wurden werden regelmässig von Dr. Guilhem Mansion vorgestellt (auf Englisch oder Französisch).

Botanik im Saastal
 

Botanik-Tourismus im Saastal

Das Herbarium Naegeli/Keller (HNK), ursprünglich eine der grössten privaten Pflanzensammlungen der Schweiz, ist Teil der Vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT. Ein Schwerpunkt des HNK sind die Walliser Vispertäler. Das Projekt Botanik-Tourismus im Saastal bildet einen wichtigen Schritt zur Aufarbeitung dieses Herbariums. Die historischen Pflanzenbelege geben, zusammen mit den erhaltenen schriftlichen und fotografischen Dokumenten, einen wertvollen Einblick in die Kulturgeschichte des botanischen Sammelns.

 

Moosflora der Schweiz

Für das Projekt "Moosflora der Schweiz" sollen alle 1'100 Moosarten der Schweiz mit Bildern und Angaben ihrer Merkmale, Ökologie und Verbreitung im Internet dargestellt werden. Die Herbarien Z+ZT besitzen umfangreiche bryologische Sammlungen und stellen für dieses Projekt Herbarbelege zum Studium der Merkmale und zur Anfertigung der Bilder zur Verfügung. Die historischen Belege liefern ausserdem wichtige Informationen zur früheren Verbreitung der Arten.

 

Flora des Kantons Zürich

Mit dem Projekt "Flora des Kantons Zürich" soll die Pflanzenvielfalt des Kantons systematisch erfasst werden. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die aktuelle Vielfalt, sondern auch um historische Pflanzenvorkommen. Die vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT sind für historische Funde eine wichtige Informationsquelle. Wir unterstützen daher das Projekt "FloZ" durch aktive Mitwirkung bei der Erfassung historischer Funde aus dem Kanton Zürich.