About the database of the United Herbaria Z+ZT

Overview

In early 2003, we started our herbarium specimen digitising initiative in order to make our own biodiversity data worldwide accessible through the internet. Meanwhile we have databased about 130‘000 specimens of land plants. All our specimens are also accessible through Biological Collection Access Service (BioCASE) and Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The initial focus of our digitising efforts was put on the types of our vascular plant collection. After finishing this first major project in fall 2004 (Klaus, G. 2004: Artenvielfalt im Internet. NZZ vom 24.11.2004), we worked on databasing scientifically important collections from New Caledonia and Southern Africa.

Our digitising efforts are financially supported by both the University of Zürich and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH). Numerous persons have been involved so far and we are grateful for their contribution, in particular:

  • Rubén Gallucci
  • Isabella Isler
  • Michaela Keel
  • Pius Lerch
  • Susann Myland
  • Sandra Taddio
  • Katica Tasic
  • Bernhard Weber
  • Dr. Michael Zink

Vascular plant type collections

We have databased our vascular plant type collections of about 13'000 specimens. Digital images of almost all of the specimens are available in two resolutions. The type status is not critically verified for all specimens, therefore, any comments and advise for corrections are very welcome. More type specimens are added to the database as they become available.

In line with research priorities at the Institut of Systematic Botany of the University of Zürich and the Geobotanical Institute of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) during the past 100 years, our collections of type specimens from New Caledonia, Southern Africa, and Central Europe are particularly important. Of the 13'000 (potential) type specimens, 2'196 specimens are from South Africa, 1'077 from the Philippines, 1'040 from Namibia, and 866 from New Caledonia. From Central Europe, we have 368 type specimens, of which 240 are from Switzerland. Important collectors of type specimens (in terms of quantities) are Rudolf Schlechter (1'183), Adolf D. E. Elmer (1'160), Cyrus G. Pringle (547), Kurt Dinter (413), Anton Rehmann (324), Georg A. Zenker (269), Hans J. E. Schlieben (252), Paul E. E. Sintensis (237), Miquel Bang (225), and Albert U. Däniker (225).

Vascular plant collections from New Caledonia

By the end of 2007 we finished digitising our large holdings of herbarium specimens from New Caledonia. These specimens were mainly collected by Marcel G. Baumann-Bodenheim (1920-1996), Adolf U. Däniker (1894-1957), André Guillaumin (1885-1974), Hans Hürlimann (*1921), Eloi-Isidore Franc (1879-1969), Hugh S. MacKee (1912-1995), and Karl F. Sarasin (1859-1942). We currently have 22'039 specimens from New Caledonia, representing 157 families of vascular plants, on our website.

Bryological collections of Paul Culmann (1860 - 1936)

The bryological collections of Paul Culmann housed at the herbarium Z consist of almost 10'000 specimens. These collections are all databased and the „georeferencing“ is currently in process. Later on, these collections will be incorporated in the online atlas of the Inventory of the Swiss Bryophyte Flora (NISM).

Submitting corrections

The quality of the metadata presented along with the specimen images is a very important aspect of our digitising efforts. Therefore, we are very much interested in receiving corrections and additions to any of our specimens presented online. Whenever you encounter some misspellings or omissions please take use of our submission form which you can access by clicking the „submit correction“-button. Thank you very much!

Die Digitalisierungsarbeiten von Sammlungen unserer vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT werden von der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich finanziell unterstützt. Eine ganze Reihe von Personen haben bisher mitgerabeitet und wir sind ihnen für Ihre Beiträge dankbar:

  • Rubén Gallucci
  • Isabella Isler
  • Michaela Keel
  • Pius Lerch
  • Susann Myland
  • Sandra Taddio
  • Katica Tasic
  • Bernhard Weber
  • Dr. Michael Zink

Über die Datenbank der Herbarien Z+ZT

Übersicht

Anfangs 2003 haben wir unser Projekt zur Digitalisierung unserer Herbarbelege gestartet. Das Ziel ist, unsere Daten zur biologischen Diversität weltweit über das Internet zugänglich zu machen. Mittlerweile haben wir über 130'000 Belege von Landpflanzen in unserer Datenbank erfasst. Alle unsere Belege sind auch über den Biological Collection Access Service (BioCASE) und über die Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) abrufbar. Unser erstes Augenmerk galt unserer Sammlung von Typusbelegen von Gefässpflanzen. Nach Abschluss dieser Arbeiten im Herbst 2004 (Klaus, G. 2004: Artenvielfalt im Internet. NZZ vom 24.11.2004) arbeiten wir nun an der Erfassung wichtiger Sammlungen aus Neukaledonien und dem südlichen Afrika.

Die Digitalisierungsarbeiten von Sammlungen unserer vereinigten Herbarien Z+ZT werden von der Universität Zürich und der ETH Zürich finanziell unterstützt. Eine ganze Reihe von Personen haben bisher mitgerabeitet und wir sind ihnen für Ihre Beiträge dankbar:

  • Rubén Gallucci
  • Isabella Isler
  • Michaela Keel
  • Pius Lerch
  • Susann Myland
  • Sandra Taddio
  • Katica Tasic
  • Bernhard Weber
  • Dr. Michael Zink

Typusbelege von Gefässpflanzen

Zwischenzeitlich haben wir unsere Sammlung von Gefässpflanzen-Typen im Umfang von etwa 13'000 Belegen in unserer Datenbank erfasst. Digitale Bilder von beinahe allen Belegen stehen in zwei Auflösungen zur Verfügung. Der Typusstatus ist meist nicht kritisch überprüft worden, weshalb wir für Korrekturhinweise sehr dankbar sind. Weitere Typusbelege werden in der Datenbank erfasst und über das Internet zugänglich gemacht sobald wir diesen habhaft werden.

Entsprechend den Forschungsschwerpunkten am Institut für Systematische Botanik der Universität Zürich und des Geobotanischen Instituts an der ETH Zürich während der vergangenen 100 Jahre weisen unsere Sammlungen eine grosse Zahl von Typusbelegen aus Neukaledonien, aus dem südlichen Afrika und Mitteleuropa auf. Von den total 13'000 (möglichen) Typusbelegen stammen 2196 aus Südafrika, 1077 von den Philippinen, 1040 aus Namibia, 866 aus Neukaledonien. Aus Mitteleuropa haben wir 368 Belege, und davon stammen 240 aus der Schweiz. Wichtige Sammler von Typusbelegen (was die Quantität betrifft) sind Friedrich R. R. Schlechter (1183), Adolf D. E. Elmer (1160), Cyrus G. Pringle (547), Kurt Dinter (413), Anton Rehmann (324), Georg A. Zenker (269), Hans. J. E. Schlieben (252), Paul E. E. Sintensis (237), Miquel Bang (225), Albert U. Däniker (225).

Belege von Gefässpflanzen aus Neukaledonien

Zur Zeit arbeiten wir an der Digitalisierung unserer Belege von Neukaledonien welche von Karl Friedrich Sarasin (1859-1942), Adolf Ulrich Däniker (1894-1957), Marcel Gustav Baumann-Bodenheim (1920-1996), Hans Hürlimann (*1921), Hans Ulrich Stauffer (1929-1965), und anderen Personen gesammelt worden sind. Diese Belege werden später in eine spezielle Internet-Seite zur Flora von Neukaledonien integriert.

Moosbelege der Sammlung von Paul Culmann (1860 - 1936)

Die Sammlung der Moosbelege von Paul Culmann im Herbarium Z umfasst über 10'000 Belege. Diese Sammlung ist nun ebenfalls vollständig erfasst und das Zuordnen von Koordinaten zu den Fundorten ("georeferencing") ist zur Zeit in Bearbeitung. Später werden diese Belege in den Online-Atlas des Naturräumlichen Inventars der Schweizer Moosflora (NISM) integriert.

Korrekturen übermitteln

Ein wichtiger Aspekt unserer Digitalisierungsarbeit ist die Qualität der Information zu unseren Herbarbelegen. Deshalb sind wir sehr daran interessiert, Hinweise für Korrekturen und Ergänzungen zu allen unseren Belegen zu erhalten. Wenn immer Sie einen Schreibfehler oder eine Auslassung feststellen benützen sie bitte unser Online-Formular durch klicken auf den Knopf "Korrektur übermitteln". Vielen Dank!